DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY

Board Established by: County

Description:

There being determined and declared an urgent existing and future need for a development authority (as more fully described and defined in the Development Authorities Law (O.C.G.A. § 36-62-1 et seq.) to function in Fulton County, Georgia, the Board of Commissioners did on May 16, 1973, adopt a resolution declaring the need for a Development Authority and by Resolution in a Special Call Meeting, May 30, 1973, established the "Development Authority of Fulton County" for the purpose of developing and promoting for the public good and general welfare trade, commerce, industry and employment opportunities in said county thereby promoting the general welfare of its citizens.

Membership/Appointment:

At the Special Call Meeting, May 30, 1973, the Board of Commissioners appointed seven (7) members to serve on this Authority. In 1992, two more members were added to this board bringing the total to nine (9) members appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Fulton County. (See Fulton County Code 13-6-3. State Law Reference: Ga. Code Ann., Sec., 69-1502). On July 1, 1992, an amendment to Ga.L. 1992, p.6 & 36 was passed that outlined the expiration of the current term of office of the first four members of the board of directors, and it also stated that the governing body of the county or municipal corporation shall elect successors to such members to serve for initial terms of two years and shall elect successors to the remaining members of the board for initial terms of four years. Thereafter, the terms of all directors shall be for four years. The terms of any director a successor thereto has not been elected, the director whose term of office has expired shall continue to hold office until his or her successor is so elected.

Historically, each Commissioner has appointed one person to serve on this board. In addition, two persons are appointed and confirmed by the full Board of Commissioners.

Term:

Four (4) years, staggered

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$200 per meeting

Meetings: 4th Tuesday of the month at 2:00 p.m.

Contact(s): Doris Metcalfe Coleman Senior Business Development Specialist Development Authority of Fulton County 141 Pryor Street, SW, Suite #1031 Atlanta, GA 30303 404-612-8037 Fax: 404-224-0477 doris.coleman@fultoncountyga.gov

> Legal Counsel Mr. Lewis C. Horne, Jr. Partner, Arnall Golden Gregory LLP 171 17th Street, Suite 2100 Atlanta, GA 30363 404-873-8108 404-873-8109 (fax) lewis.horne@agg.com

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Mr. Samuel Bacote	District 7 Chairman John H. Eaves	5/31/2017
2	Mr. Michael Bell	District 3 Commissioner Lee Morris	5/31/2019
3	Mr. Steve Broadbent	District 1 Vice- Chairman Liz Hausmann	5/31/2017
4	Mr. David Pendleton Hodge	BOC-2 Chairman John H. Eaves	5/31/2017
5	Dr. Samuel D. Jolley	BOC-1 Commissioner William "Bill" Edwards	5/31/2017
6	Dr. John E. Maupin	District 4 Commissioner Joan P. Garner	5/31/2015
7	Mr. Walter Metze	District 6 Commissioner Emma I. Darnell	5/31/2017
8	Ms. Regina D. Page	District 5 Commissioner William "Bill" Edwards	5/31/2017
9	Mr. Robert J Shaw	District 2 Commissioner Tom Lowe	5/31/2017